National Quality Framework

Education and care services are assessed and rated by their state and territory regulatory authority against the National Quality Standard. The aim of Assessment and Rating is to promote continuous improvement in the provision of quality education and care and to assist services to implement and comply with the requirements of the National Quality Framework, and Education and Care Services National Regulations 2011 (National Regulations).

Services are given a rating for each of the seven quality areas and an overall rating based on the combined results. Each of the quality areas listed below comprise of a series of standards and elements that are important to children’s learning and developmental outcomes.

Quality Areas
  • 1: Educational program and practice
  • 2: Children’s health and safety
  • 3: Physical environment
  • 4: Staffing arrangements
  • 5: Relationships with children
  • 6: Collaborative partnerships with families and communities
  • 7: Governance and leadership

During the Assessment and Rating visit, the assessing officer from the regulatory authority will discuss components of each quality area with management as well as observe educators and their interactions with the children.

We'd Love to Hear from you!
Send us Your Message